This site is English – get used to it…

Tipton Canal and Community Festival in pictures


Tipton Canal and Community Festival (6)

I photographed the Tipton Canal and Community Festival on Sunday. It’s organised by the Tipton Community Association and features stalls and a fun fair as well as the colourful narrow-boats. The weather was quite cloudy, as usual…

Miles of canals

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (35)

There were narrow-boat rides down the canal. I don’t go on boats! I don’t even get too close to the water, despite often photographing the miles of canals around the Black Country.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (55) 

I took this photo when the sun came out. It makes the water more blue despite the grey cloud. To the left you can see the little park where the main event was. I had to park my car on the opposite side of the canal, but I got interesting photos anyway.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (57)

Overcoming camera shake is always a consideration. I was able to lean on the bridge for these shots, but often a faster shutter speed at events is a good idea.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (81)

The tree in this picture  gives it depth and makes for a better scene. Focusing a shot like this is a matter of compromise, you can’t get the whole picture sharply in focus. A narrow aperture, gives depth of field for landscape shots.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (84)

The standard lens that comes with most DSLR cameras is 18 – 55mm. The 18 – 105mm lens that I bought a few weeks ago is not only better quality, it allowed me to zoom in from the bridge for a better shot of the narrow-boats.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (105)

Candid shots like this using the zoom are always interesting. It can be worth changing the lens to a longer lens part way through the event. I got this shot with the 18 – 105mm lens. I did see other photographers using much longer lenses.

Tipton Canal and Community Festival (131)

I really like this smoky picture. The sun was behind the clouds or I would have been shooting directly into the sun. The light and the smoke give us an impression of the essence of the event and the nature of narrow-boat living.

There are more photos on my Facebook page. All the photos were edited and when the light is poor, editing is essential, many of the photos were quite dark. You are welcome to comment, did you go too? You can also follow me on Twitter, if you’re in the Black Country you might see my tweets about other events. I’ll be taking Autumn pictures now…

3 responses

  1. Hi Mike, Wow, these pictures really tell a story of fun! You captured the spirit of the event with your colourful images.

    My favourite this week is picture number 3. I like the reflection in the water and the angles of the lines to make a triangle. I’ll be sharing this one on my Reflections group board on Pinterest!

    24, September 2014 at 1:36 am

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Yes, the landscapes we meant to give people an idea of what went on. I did some close ups too, that I like better. My local newspaper put this article on their website and it was syndicated by another news site. Some of the organisations represented there were pleased with that. The crime prevention one and the community association re-tweeted the links to the articles.

      Those reflections can make the picture interesting, but also confusing sometimes. I always try to take that into account when taking the shot. There is never much time at these events because I try to talk to people too. I tend to take lots of photos at first and then slow down and chat to the various people.

      I’ll be doing another post on this today and helping a student too!

      Thanks for pinning the picture.

      24, September 2014 at 9:11 am

  2. Pingback: The Review: Does art need to reach out? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

