This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Christmas Countdown: 14 days to go


The Aldi super-six this week are clementines (600g), little gem lettuce (2), Maris piper potatoes (1.5 Kg), Brussels sprouts (750g), carrots (2.5Kg) and parsnips (600g). They are on offer until the end of the month.

Aldi

Check out the meat offers too on their website.

Today’s special buys include an Android tablet computer. I have just bought one similar to that, but it had less memory and  less storage. This one looks good, but more expensive than the one I had from Amazon. Mine was 79.99, but I have paid extra for a case/keyboard and I have a 32Gb micro SD card on order. So the price of this one isn’t too bad. Most tablets have 1 Gb of RAM, this has 2 Gb of RAM. It’s not a bargain, but it’s reasonable. The 3 year warranty is worth having too.  Take a look at the rest of the special buys on the website. I didn’t find them particularly exciting.

Sunday’s special buys are more interesting and feature a portable DVD player. There’s a four pack of push lights too. I have some of those, they’re really useful.

I bought two glove puppets from Aldi for 2.99 each last week and that seemed a bargain. They were reduced to 1.49 this week. One was a teddy and one was a dog. Teddy is coming with us when we take photos in future!

Talkin’ turkey

They have frozen turkeys and duck in my local Aldi, but I would prefer fresh. The larger supermarkets will have fresh turkeys closer to Christmas, but they will be more expensive and perhaps not good value. It seem chickens and turkeys have little taste now and so not worth the money for many people. You can improve the flavour with a good stuffing I suppose. They have a turkey thigh joint in Asda for £4.00, but they don’t usually taste very good either. You’re better off with a turkey drumstick, for just one person.

Christmas

For drinks and frozen turkey try Aldi and Lidl. You can also get good chocolate at the discount supermarkets, as well as wine and beer. I’ve been stocking up on Banks’s beer for Christmas.

I’ve bought a few presents this year from Aldi and some online from Amazon. Amazon does have some good offers. If you do a search they tend to show you the most expensive first!

We have a new baby in the family and as well as the glove puppet from Aldi, I got her a little teddy bear and a hat and mitten set from Poundland. Those were bargains. I also got some decorations for my living  room from Poundland.  I mentioned Lynx shower gel last week, they had it in Poundland. All the different ones too, so I had one of each! Those would make a small present. They have diaries on Poundland too that are good value. I usually have the cheap gel pens in Poundland, but they didn’t have any so I had a pack of 2 Papermate pens. I prefer the 10 to a pack ones. The 10 x 8 picture frames are good value, add a nice picture to personalise them and you have a great gift.

Fashions come and go. I saw onesies are coming in to stock at Aldi, but I think they were last years craze. This years fashion is an alphabet scarf; they are being sold for charity. Get one with your initial on! They have those at Matalan, about £10 for adults and a fiver for kids. Get a brightly coloured one, we need cheering up in winter and it will match the Christmas jumper!

Matalan has extended opening hours for Christmas shopping and some ‘new in for Christmas stock’. Most of us shop online now, but be sure to order in plenty of time.

Cameras

If you need a camera, the Fuji AX650 is good value and includes a 8Gb card and a case. If you want to take a picture with the sun behind you, you’ll have problems seeing the screen. You need a viewfinder! The Fujifilm Finepix S4800 has been discontinued so on offer at 98.50 at Amazon. You might need a memory card and case too. I have a Nikon D3200 which is 349.99 at Amazon. I had mine from Digitalrev where it’s 319. It’s 277.20 at Expedite Electronics or 219.00 for the camera body only. I would have the camera body only and add a 18 – 105mm lens. That’s 197.60, but the D3200 with that lens is a very cool camera. For £416.60, you can compete with the professionals.  I have that kit and a 300mm lens and a speedlight (external flash) that I used to photograph the pop stars recently! I should mention that Asda prints 8 x 10 photos for about 1.10 if you take a card, memory stick or a CD in. They will fit in a Poundland frame and make a nice Christmas gift. Check out Amazon for large prints on canvas. I had one done 30 inches by 20 inches for less than £25 inc postage.

Have you got a great Christmas gift idea? Please share it in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter.

One response

  1. Pingback: The review: Do we have a right to judge? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

