This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Christmas edits


Merry Christmas

This is the time of year when you can dig out the snow pictures and edit them for Christmas messages and effects. These edited pictures can make your Facebook Timeline look cool or if you have a blog,  you can change to a Christmas header.

 Merry Christmas header

There are even festive borders in PhotoScape that you can use to make your image more Christmassy. I chose one of the Christmas borders and made it wider by resizing the image and making it smaller.

Merry xmas Art

If you have imagination and want to be really creative, you can do something really colourful. I took this photo with a 4 point star filter fitted and then edited, changing the perspective and adding  a border.

DSC_2785

I went out in the cold to take this landscape. The sun came out, but the images were a little dark and so I added contrast and made them brighter in Windows Live Photo Gallery.The weather is quite mild, but it can change quickly in the UK so we have to be prepared for anything. If it goes really cold, then we get frozen pools, lakes and canals. We might get snow and that can give some good images too.

Sepia edit of horse and cart

Keep your camera handy in case you see an unusual shot like this. I edited this shot in PhotoScape, blurring the background and making it sepia.

That’s it for today, there are more images and blog posts over on a Zillion Ideas. Thanks for reading and you can share your thoughts in the comments box. Would you like to write for a Zillion Ideas as a featured writer? Just email me and send a sample post! You can also send a post with pictures like this one or simply send pictures for publication. You can also email me for advice on writing, photography or life in general! Finally, you can follow me on Twitter.

3 responses

  1. Hi Mike, I really like all of the photos and the editing this week. I especially like the first image, the scene is so peaceful and the path leads me right into the photo!

    I also like the borders. You did a great job of illustrating how to use them effectively!

    17, December 2014 at 10:44 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I did these for headers and for Timeline greetings on Facebook, so they were cropped. I think the larger pictures are a little bit better now I look at them again. I’ve been sorting through all my pictures from this year, deleting duplicates and ones that didn’t quite work. I hope to get the collection down to below 32 Gb so it will fit on my new Android tablet! I am also selecting the best images of the year for use at Christmas. The best ones are without any doubt from spring, when the light was great on odd days! I think we will have snow or frozen lakes soon! I’ll be doing some special posts over Christmas and I have a guest post to read this afternoon.

      18, December 2014 at 12:54 pm

  2. Pingback: The Review: Changing times | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

