This site is English – get used to it…

Experiments in photography


I think the best way to improve at anything is to keep practising and experimenting, photography is no exception.  I constantly try new things and learn. I also listen to others.

My brother suggested different ways of editing to me the other day and I will try them. He looks at photography from the point of view of a wedding photographer, more concerned with images of people, while I’ve done more landscape photography.

I experiment not only with taking the shot, at different apertures and different shutter speeds, but also try different ideas when I’m editing the pictures for different effects. You can go from taking snaps to be really creative and creating pictures. This is where photography becomes art.

It was –2 C when I got out of bed this morning and so the weather isn’t ideal for landscape photography. In the depths of winter, I tend to do more experiments in editing than going out in the cold to take photos. Some of the shots I’ve got in winter of the frozen lakes and the snow have been really good, so it’s worth donning the thermal underwear and going out to see what you can find.

The light can be poor when we have dark skies, but we also get sunny days that provides more subtle light and the subtle colours of nature in winter can be better than the bright greens of summer. You can compensate for poor light by using higher ISO settings and wide apertures with a definite subject in your frame. I’ll end today with some winter pictures.

Remember you can subscribe to this blog or follow me on Twitter  for updates. As always you can also comment or ask questions.

4 responses

  1. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

    3, February 2015 at 2:17 pm

  2. Hi Mike, I really like your collage of winter scenes. The footpath with the frosted frame really caught my eye. But my favourite today is the last one. I like the mist in the background with the tree in the centre. The tree almost seems to be a guard to the mysteries of the mist. The path beckons the viewer to take a chance on the journey. That photo not only evokes a mood but tells a story too!

    3, February 2015 at 10:48 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I didn’t have so much time today, so did this one quickly. I didn’t take the last one, but I thought it had potential and so did the editing. I’lldo another lesson tomorrow on photography on A Zillion Ideas. It will be about aperture and shutter speed again. I might use the photo of my birthday cake! Making the candles flicker was a good trick! 🙂

      3, February 2015 at 10:59 pm

  3. Pingback: Remember summer? #weather | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

