This site is English – get used to it…

Time flies #Sunday #ramble


It’s Sunday morning and time for another ramble through the overgrown pathways of my mind. Many of my readers are bloggers themselves and they know how hard it can be to make a start on a post and add those all important keywords for the search engines. This isn’t as easy as it looks!

Time flies

Yesterday, it was my lead picture I couldn’t decide on; today it was the title. I wanted “Doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun”, but I have to pander to Twitter as well as Google and apostrophes don’t display well on Twitter. So I shortened it to ‘time flies’. That’s too short, so the search engines won’t like it. So to please both the search engines, Facebook and Twitter; I added an hash tag. I couldn’t decide which one to use #Sunday or #Summer. Anyway, doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun? It doesn’t seem five minutes since I was photographing the summer carnival in the park. I find it hard to believe it’s 2015 already. Where did all those years go?

They say the best time to take photographs is the first hour of the day or the last hour before sunset. I think life is a bit like that, you play games and enjoy your childhood and then things get more difficult as you have to accept adulthood,  work for a living and accept responsibility. Then you come to retirement, often called the second childhood, when you have time to play again! I’m not exactly having fun, but I’m keeping busy and trying to enjoy my twilight years. This is the photographer’s ‘golden hour’, I might as well make the most of it. The government is threatening to introduce  the ‘bedroom tax’ for many older people on pensions and other devious changes that single out the most vulnerable and weakest. They have to get re-elected first…

If you’re a regular reader, you’ll know I have helped students with their studies for the past few years. One of them graduated and stayed as my guest for two weeks. The fact we both survived the experience despite the 40 year age gap and the 14 inch height gap, testifies to my ability to adjust. There was also a cultural and gender gap, she was Chinese; I’m male and six feet two inches tall. We managed to survive the experience and she even enjoyed my cooking! There are some things we can’t do. We can’t all be great white game hunters or astronauts, but we should be a little adventurous and keep our minds active.

Anyway, that experience made a couple of weeks pass quite quickly. I even had a little soirée on my birthday with invited guests. That was a new experience too. I didn’t have guests at Christmas, so needed to make up for it. I have plans for barbecue soirées in the summer. A soirée for those of you unfamiliar with the term, means just having guests for an evening gathering of conversation or music. It was conversation on my birthday, but I have just ordered a ‘boom box’ with rechargeable batteries so we can have music at our barbecue soirées. I could start a new trend couldn’t I? Soirées could come back into fashion. What sort of music should I play? I think something like this, not too loud or it will kill the conversation:

Music

You can click that link to the music on Spotify. I like the music from the 1920’s, it’s even older than I am… I’m a fan of Nina Simone too, maybe that would be more suitable being more modern?

Time flies sometimes when I’m writing. I’ve done over 600 words already. My target is simply to get over 500 words and make it interesting. Humour is an added advantage on a Sunday, but I don’t always manage it. After this has been on Twitter and Facebook, I expect people all over Britain will be planning Sunday barbecue soirées for the summer. Time flies when you’re having fun…

What’s going on in your mind this Sunday? Please use the comments box to share your thoughts. You can also follow me on Twitter and tweet your thoughts.

2 responses

  1. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

    2, March 2015 at 7:31 am

  2. Pingback: A Wednesbury Goose | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

