This site is English – get used to it…

Creating a Black Country image #photography


I’ve been using pictures of daffodils lately, to signify spring in my recent articles. I’m not sure where the quote ‘a picture is worth a thousand words’ comes from. Some say it comes from a Chinese proverb. It does sound Chinese…

We can present an image and send a message with a picture. I take a lot of photos here in the Black Country. The image in most people’s minds of the Black Country comes from the ‘black by day, red by night’ images that are often used to reflect it’s industrial past. It’s not all industry now and we even have an urban forest. We can now send out a new message to people showing them the nature reserves, the shopping centres, the Victorian parks and the culture of the Black Country. I can describe the Black Country, but pictures are so much more powerful.

BC (29)

I took this photo on Sunday and while it reflects the industrial past of the Black Country, but also gives the viewer a hint about the heritage of the area. It also shows how the canals are now blending in with nature to be part of a scenic landscape that people can enjoy for leisure purposes.

BC (71)

This pool in Wednesbury is a remnant of the industrial past that is now home to swans, geese, coots, pigeons and gulls. It is an area of natural beauty and a popular place to walk the dog on a Sunday afternoon. People take the children to feed the geese or even spend a day fishing. The picture taken at the beginning of spring has a certain Englishness to it. It’s sends out a message of tranquillity in a noisy world. It’s an oasis that has cars driven past almost constantly and is on a busy bus route. This little oasis is important in a highly stressed world and especially important in an urban environment like the Black Country.

I’ll finish with more photos that I’ve taken in the Black Country, that collectively present an image of where I live. Remember you can subscribe to this blog and have an email every time I publish a new post. You can also follow me on Twitter for updates. I even use images to promote my posts on Twitter. 

4 responses

  1. Reblogged this on oshriradhekrishnabole.

    24, March 2015 at 1:16 pm

  2. Hi Mike, Yes, we are looking forward to Spring here but I’m wondering if it will ever arrive! Your pictures definitely give the feel of an English Spring!

    I really like the photo of the bike by the pond. You’re right, the image sets the scene. I like how the bike is off to the left with the swan as the centre of the photo.

    But my favorite photo this week is of the daffodils. I really like both the colours in that photo as well as the focus. The daffodils are in sharp focus while the background is blurred. That really conveys the feeling of the flowers being the hope of Spring ahead!

    26, March 2015 at 3:37 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I was thinking earlier I would have to check out your blog. I don’t think I’ve been getting links, but I had to change to Live Mail and it has separate junk mail folders and puts lots of things in them! I’ve just been out shooting video with a dash cam. It worked well, but I forgot to take the protective film off the lens! Not bad for a first attempt though! I’ve been setting up a network too. It still isn’t right, but I have the media server right. I have movies on the network drive that I can watch on my laptop. I might be able to watch them on my tablet too. Unfortunately Amazon sent me another faulty SD card, so my tablet and the dash cam are sharing one! I shall check your blog later…

      26, March 2015 at 4:43 pm

  3. Pingback: Hoss Muck #review | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

